2014 Board of Health Elections

January 15, 2014 - The chair, vice chair and executive committee members of the Board of Health were elected today during the Board’s Annual Meeting held at the Thunder Bay District Health Unit. Norm Gale, Provincial Appointee, was elected as chair. Joe Virdiramo, of the City of Thunder Bay, was elected in the vice chair position.

Board of Health membership for 2014 are as follows:


Representing (bold denotes appointing municipality)


Township of Schreiber and Terrace Bay

Linda Turk

Municipality of Neebing/Township of South Gillies

Jay Daiter

Municipality of Greenstone

Terry Fox

Town of Marathon

Norm Gale

Provincial Appointee

Gwen Garbutt

Townships of Conmee and O’Connor

Maria Harding

Municipality of Shuniah

Bernie Kamphof

Municipality of Oliver Paipoonge

John MacEachern

Town of Manitouwadge

Jack Masters

Provincial Appointee

Beatrice Metzler

City of Thunder Bay

Darquise Robinson

Townships of Red Rock, Dorion and Nipigon

Aldo Ruberto

City of Thunder Bay

Joe Virdiramo

City of Thunder Bay

The Board of Health is made up of representatives of the municipalities that the Health Unit serves. Municipalities may appoint their own councillors or choose among citizens who apply to represent them. In addition, the Thunder Bay District Board of Health currently includes two provincially appointed members.

Board of Health meetings are held the third Wednesday of every month at the Thunder Bay District Health Unit at 999 Balmoral Street. Meetings are open to the public. The Board membership, minutes from the meetings and meeting schedule is posted on the Health Unit website at tbdhu.com.



News Type
Health Topics