2017 Board of Health Elections

Thunder Bay District Health Unit building

January 18, 2017 - The chair, vice chair and executive committee members of the Board of Health were elected today during the Board of Health’s Annual Meeting held at the Thunder Bay District Health Unit. Joe Virdiramo was re-elected as chair. Jay Daiter was elected in the vice chair position.  

Board of Health membership for 2017 is as follows:


Representing (Bold denotes appointing municipality)

Alana Bishop

Municipality of Oliver Paipoonge

Andrew Brigham

Provincial Appointee

Jay Daiter

Provincial Appointee

Terry Fox

Town of Marathon

Norm Gale

City of Thunder Bay

Maria Harding

Provincial Appointee

Richard Harvey

Townships of  Red Rock, Dorion and Nipigon

Bob McMaster

Townships of Conmee and O’Connor

Andy Major

Town of Manitouwadge

Jack Masters

Provincial Appointee

James McPherson

Municipality of Greenstone

Karen Morley

Township of Schreiber and Terrace Bay

Aldo Ruberto

City of Thunder Bay

Roger Shott

Municipality of Neebing/Township of South Gillies

Don Smith

Municipality of Shuniah

Joe Virdiramo

City of Thunder Bay

The Board of Health consists of provincial appointees and representatives of the obligated municipalities in the District of Thunder Bay.

Board of Health meetings are held at 1:00 pm the third Wednesday of every month at the Thunder Bay District Health Unit at 999 Balmoral Street. Meetings are open to the public. The Board membership, minutes from the meetings and meeting schedule are posted on the Health Unit website at TBDHU.COM


News Type
News Releases
Health Topics